In the News
January 30th 2019

2018 IWWF Male Athlete of the Year awarded to Barefoot Water Skier!
30th January 2019

It is with great pleasure that I announce that the 2018 IWWF Male Athlete of the Year award has been presented to David Small! This award was based on David’s performances in IWWF homologated tournaments throughout 2018.

David Small had a spectacular year breaking a world record in Tricks with a score of 13,350. David also won his first ever World Slalom title, now earning him a spot as one of the now five Men (Other four being Brett Wing, Mike Seipel, Ron Scarpa, and Keith St. Onge) to have won an Open World Championship in all 4 events – Slalom, Trick, Jump and Overall. These results placed David at the top of the list to achieve the 2018 IWWF Male Athlete of the Year.

David’s dedication to excellence and to the sport of Barefooting is proven in his results. David is an inspiration to many, and we look forward to many more years of successes.

David will both be honoured with an awards presentation at the 2020 World Barefoot Waterski Championships at Liverpool, Australia.

Geoff Blaauw
Chairman - IWWF Barefoot Council

Last Updated: January 30th 2019

Return to List | Contact Us
site map